为了更佳的浏览体验,将您的浏览器保持最新。在这里您可以获得最新的版本。

案例研究

华盛顿市政公用事业公司利用 Sensus 改善水务和电力基础设施

印第安纳州公用事业公司改善计费准确度和客户服务

华盛顿位于印第安纳州戴维斯县,这是一座具备稳定增长态势的小城。扩建交通繁忙的 I-69 号公路使得位于埃文斯维尔 (Evansville) 和印第安纳波利斯 (Indianapolis) 之间的区域与外界有了更多的新联系,从而能够享受更多的工作、教育和医疗保健。

该城市承诺保持商业和住宅增长,知道现有的、陈旧的公用事业基础设施不再足以支持 11,000 多名居民的需求。

华盛顿市政设施公司 (WMU) 的办公室主管 Anita Ash 说:“我们的电表和水表都很陈旧,需要更换。我们想要将抄表以及向客户计费的系统合并成一个平台。”

现在正是时机

华盛顿陈旧的电力和水务基础设施使得跟踪仪表或监控问题(如漏水和停电)很困难。城市领导人知道他们需要一个灵活的解决方案,即:可以将水表和电表计量合并在一个解决方案中,同时与当前的计费系统无缝集成。

WMU 通过 Sensus 让其陈旧的水表和电表计量基础设施焕然一新,可以支持城市预期的发展。

尽管从一开始就有城市领导在支持升级,但是部分 WMU 的客户首先需要看到升级给他们带来的价值。

Ash 说:“虽然市长 150% 支持该项目,但部分客户仍担心他们的费用会上涨。但是在我们着手该项目,找到用户漏水情况后,情况似乎有了 180 度的大转变,所有人都支持它了。”

建立蓝图

WMU 知道高级量测体系 (AMI) 解决方案正是合适的方法。特别是,公用事业在寻求一系列改进,包括:

  • 在单一系统下管理水表和电表计量
  • 与现有计费和财务软件集成
  • 充分利用安全、可靠的通信网络来传输仪表数据
  • 实现准时传输数据
  • 允许其客户在能耗和用水量方面做出更明智的选择

在参观邻镇公用事业并了解他们成功的电力和水务系统部署后,WMU 确定 Sensus AMI 解决方案最适合公司。

Ash 说:“那是真正值得我们赞许的地方。我们对于部署流程的顺利性以及使用的方便性留下了深刻的印象。”

适应新的

通过与 Sensus 合作,WMU 用 Sensus iCon A™ Generation 3 住宅用电表iCONAPX™ Electricity Meter 更换了 7,500 只已安装的电表。为配合这些升级,该市政设施公司还用 SR II® Water MetersSmartPoint® 520M Pit Set Modules 更换了 4,500 只水表。

作为 AMI 解决方案之一,WMU 部署了 Sensus FlexNet® 通信网络Sensus Analytics,以安全地收集和传输客户用量数据,从而能更加准确和高效地计费。有了 FlexNet 系统,工作人员可以用接近实时的方式监控用量并向客户报告问题。

Ash 说:“当客户打进电话并想要讨论其账单时,我们刚好可以提起它并查阅其用量。我们为客户提供数据,这样可以让他们加深理解。这真的很重要。”

除了客户服务,WMU 还在不断寻求 AMI 解决方案的益处。

Ash 说:“我们曾经有三个抄表员,他们现在不必再乘车出去人工抄表了,而且可以将精力放在更重要的工作上。我们使用该系统来远程管理电力和水务,不仅节省了时间,也节约了资源。”

当客户打进电话并想要讨论其账单时,我们刚好可以提起它并查阅其用量。我们为客户提供数据,这样可以让他们加深理解。这真的很重要。

从今以后授权客户和建筑物

有了更准时和准确的数据后,华盛顿的居民可以就他们自己的耗电情况和用水情况做出明智决策。

Ash 说:“在我们安装新的解决方案之前,有些客户担心他们的费用会增加。我们发现的事实是,该系统通过快速找到花费成本的问题并向客户提供资源以使其更加了解其用量,实际上是在帮助客户节省金钱。”

下载 PDF

联系我们

有疑问?我们经验丰富的工作人员可帮助您找到答案。
点击下方可联系我们或查找您附近的办事处。

联系我们

Please select your preferred language:

English Deutsch Français 日本語 Español 简体中文

For a better experience, keep your browser up to date. Check here for the latest versions.

Case Study

Washington Municipal Utilities Enhances Water and Electric Infrastructure with Sensus

Indiana utility improves billing accuracy and customer service

Located in Daviess County, Indiana, Washington is a small city that is poised for growth. An expansion of the heavily traveled I-69 highway has added new connections to the region between Evansville and Indianapolis, improving access to jobs, education and healthcare.

With the promise of commercial and residential growth, the city knew that its existing, aging utility infrastructure would no longer be enough to support the needs of its more than 11,000 residents.

“Our electric and water meters were old and needed replacing,” said Anita Ash, utility office manager at Washington Municipal Utilities (WMU). “We wanted to consolidate our system for reading the meters and billing our customers all onto one platform.”

The time is now

Washington’s outdated electric and water infrastructure made it difficult to track meters or monitor for issues such as water leaks and power outages. City leaders knew they needed a flexible solution that would unify water and electric metering under a single solution while seamlessly integrating with the current billing system.

WMU revitalized its aging water and electricity metering infrastructure with Sensus to support the town’s anticipated growth.

Though the city’s leadership was behind the upgrade from the beginning, some of WMU’s customers first needed to see the value to them.

“The mayor was 150 percent behind the project, but some customers were concerned that their bills were going to go up,” said Ash. “But once we started on the project, and we were finding people’s water leaks, then it was like a 180-degree turn around and everyone was behind it.”

Establishing the blueprint

WMU knew that an advanced metering infrastructure (AMI) solution was the right approach. Specifically, the utility was looking for a host of improvements, including:

  • Manage both water and electric metering under a single system
  • Integrate with current billing and accounting software
  • Leverage a secure, reliable communication network for transmitting meter data
  • Enable the timely delivery of data
  • Allow their customers to make more informed choices on energy and water use

After visiting a neighboring utility to see their successful electric and water system deployment, WMU determined the Sensus AMI solution was the right fit.

“That’s what really sold us on it,” said Ash. “We were impressed with the smooth deployment process and how easy it was to use.”

In with the new

Working with Sensus, WMU replaced 7,500 installed electric meters with Sensus iCon A™ Generation 3 residential electricity meters and iCONAPX™ electricity meters. In conjunction with these upgrades, the utility replaced 4,500 water meters with SR II® water meters and SmartPoint® 520M pit set modules.

As part of its AMI solution, WMU deployed the Sensus FlexNet® communication network and Sensus Analytics to securely collect and transmit customer usage data for more accurate and efficient billing. With the FlexNet system, staff can monitor usage and report issues to customers in near real time.

“When a customer calls in and wants to discuss their bill, we can bring it right up and go through their usage,” said Ash. “We give them data, which gives them greater understanding. That’s really important.”

Beyond customer service, WMU keeps finding new benefits to its AMI solution.

“We had three meter readers who no longer have to go out in trucks to read them manually, and can focus on more important tasks,” said Ash. “We use the system to manage power and water remotely, which saves time and resources.”

When a customer calls in and wants to discuss their bill, we can bring it right up and go through their usage. We give them data, which gives them greater understanding. That’s really important.

Empowering customers and building for the future

With more timely and accurate data, Washington residents can make informed decisions about their own power and water consumption.

“Before we installed the new solution, some customers were worried they would pay more,” said Ash. “What we found is, the system is actually helping customers save money by identifying costly issues quickly and providing resources for them to be more educated about their usage.”

Download PDF

Contact Us

Have questions? Our experienced staff can help you find the answers. Click below to contact us or find an office near you.

Contact Us

Please select your preferred language:

English Deutsch Français 日本語 Español 简体中文