为了更佳的浏览体验,将您的浏览器保持最新。在这里您可以获得最新的版本。

案例研究

小蛋港 (Little Egg Harbor) 通过 Sensus 技术建立客户信赖度

公用事业公司利用 FlexNet 改善运营效率,培养客户关系

试想一下新泽西小蛋港的冬天,日落前温度会降低至二十小几度。这座沿海城市没有夏天般的海滩天气,大部分居民会在夏季回归之前到温暖的地方避寒。但是,水管无法选择天气,而在房主外出后,水管很容易冻爆。

如果水管冻爆,淹没了无人居住的房屋,那么可能没有人会注意到漏水问题,除非有人路过看到屋外正在流水。此时,损失已经产生。

“没有人想去面对弥补漏水损失的压力,”小蛋港市政公用事业管理局 (LEHMUA) 执行总监 Earl Sutton 说道,“我们遇到了很多客户家中被毁的情况。我们知道必须设法帮助检测水管爆裂或泄露等问题,并更加迅速地通知客户。”

发展中的度假目的地

小蛋港距大西洋仅几分钟的路程。这座海边城镇拥有 8,000 多户家庭,并且还在不断增多,正在快速成为一个热门的度假屋目的地。

随着度假景点的扩张,业主和公用事业公司需要更加警惕一些具有安全隐患并且代价高昂的情况。例如,如果水管爆裂或泄露,多久会出现重大损失? 如果公用事业公司能够实时监测耗水量,会怎样? 如果数据能够提醒他们泄露或水管爆裂问题,会怎样?

无论是飓风还是寒冬,我们的客户完全可以放心,因为我们会在收到投诉之前立即解决问题。

发送消息并享受福利

借助于 Sensus FlexNet® 通信网络,公用事业公司现在可直接获得这些问题的答案。公用事业公司依赖于 FlexNet 系统监控自来水的使用,并直接通过电子邮件、短信或电话随时提醒客户异常的耗水情况。

除了提醒外,公用事业公司还可将耗水数据用于:

  • 提供更加准确和可靠的服务
  • 全天候监控所有 9,000 部水表
  • 确保计费的准确
  • 改善运营效率,节约水源

赢得客户的信任

Sensus 技术还可让 LEHMUA 赢得小蛋港居民的信任。例如,该公用事业公司在去年秋天发现某位客户的用水量异常升高。该客户的日用水量超过 1,000 加仑。该客户立即获知这一问题,并发现厕所正在流水。如果问题不得到解决,那么当月的水费将会非常高昂。房主对于公司的来电提醒非常感激。

“凭借持续监控和通信的能力,FlexNet 让我们能够展示自己对客户的关爱,”Sutton 说道,“无论是水龙头泄漏还是水管冻裂,客户对于我们的密切监控都非常满意。”

抵御风暴

飓风桑迪过后,LEHMUA 依赖 FlexNet 网络安排救灾工作,并快速恢复灾区的服务。

飓风桑迪过后,LEHMUA 依赖 FlexNet 网络安排救灾工作,并快速恢复灾区的服务。

这家公用事业公司深知需要一种解决方案来提醒当地房主水管爆裂问题。他们也很少有人知道 FlexNet 还有助于克服自然灾难。

2012 年秋天,飓风桑迪席卷泽西海岸后,很多居民的住宅被破坏,甚至完全被毁。

Ed Andrews 是 LEHMUA 10 年的老客户,他家的积水超过三英尺,导致水表陷入了水中。“尽管我的服务从未中断,但是水表依然需要更换,”Andrews 说道,“幸运的是,公用事业公司的师傅们及时、免费地更换了水表。”

LEHMUA 利用 FlexNet 安排救灾工作并确定灾情最严重的地区,进而能够主动更换水表。这家公用事业公司快速高效地解决了问题,同时与客户持续沟通修复工作。

为持久而生的技术

鉴于 FlexNet 系统的可扩展性,LEHMUA 可在未来持续监控客户的耗水量并提醒他们相关问题。

“无论是飓风还是寒冬,我们的客户完全可以放心,因为我们会在收到投诉之前立即解决问题,”Sutton 表示,“知道 FlexNet 将继续支持我们构建的持久合作关系后,我们感到非常欣慰。”

 

挑战
改善客户服务和运营

解决方案
利用 Sensus FlexNet 通信网络的数据采取措施

进一步发展
无论面前的挑战是什么,与客户培养持久的关系

下载 PDF

联系我们

有疑问?我们经验丰富的工作人员可帮助您找到答案。
点击下方可联系我们或查找您附近的办事处。

联系我们

Please select your preferred language:

English Deutsch Français 日本語 Español 简体中文

For a better experience, keep your browser up to date. Check here for the latest versions.

Case Study

Little Egg Harbor Builds Customer Trust through Sensus Technology

Utility increases operational efficiency and fosters customer relationships using FlexNet

Imagine it’s winter in Little Egg Harbor, New Jersey and temperatures drop to the low twenties by sundown. Summery, beach weather is nowhere to be seen in this coastal town and most residents have fled to warmer temperatures until summer returns. Water pipes can’t flock to warmer temperatures though, and while homeowners are gone, pipes can easily freeze and burst.

If a pipe bursts and floods an unoccupied house, the leak could go unnoticed until a passerby sees water running outside of the home. At this point, the damage is done.

“No one wants to deal with the stress of recovering from water damage,” said Earl Sutton, executive director, Little Egg Harbor Municipal Utilities Authority (LEHMUA). “We’d had enough of our customers’ homes being damaged. We knew we had to do something to help detect issues, like pipe bursts or leaks, and notify customers about them more quickly.”

A growing vacation destination

Little Egg Harbor is located just minutes from the Atlantic Ocean. With more than 8,000 households and counting, the seaside town is quickly becoming a popular vacation home destination.

As the vacation spot expands, so does the possibility of potentially damaging and expensive scenarios for property owners and the utility to consider. For instance, if there is a pipe burst or leak, how long would it take major damage to occur? What if the utility could monitor water consumption in real time? What if data alerted them to a leak or pipe burst?

No matter if we experience another hurricane or harsh winter, our customers can rest assured knowing that we will go right to them and address an issue before receiving a complaint.

Sending messages and reaping benefits

With the Sensus FlexNet® communication network, answers to these questions are now within the utility’s reach. The utility relies on the FlexNet system to monitor water use and directly alert customers to abnormal consumption patterns via email, text or phone call at any time of day.

In addition to alerts, the utility uses consumption data to:

  • Provide more accurate and reliable service
  • Monitor all of its 9,000 water meters 24/7
  • Ensure accurate bills
  • Improve operational efficiency and save water

Building trust with customers

The Sensus technology also empowers LEHMUA to build trust with the people of Little Egg Harbor. For instance, the utility saw an unusual spike in one customer’s water consumption last fall. The customer’s daily water use exceeded 1,000 gallons. Right away, the customer was alerted to the problem—and discovered a toilet that was running. Had the problem persisted, their water bill that month would have gone through the roof. The homeowner was extremely grateful for the call.

“With consistent monitoring and communication capabilities, FlexNet makes it possible for us to show that we care,” said Sutton. “Whether it’s a leaky faucet or frozen pipe, at the end of the day, our customers are happy we’re there looking out for them.”

Standing tall against the storm

After Superstorm Sandy, LEHMUA relied on the FlexNet network to prioritize relief efforts and quickly restore service to the devastated area.

After Superstorm Sandy, LEHMUA relied on the FlexNet network to prioritize relief efforts and quickly restore service to the devastated area.

The utility knew it needed a solution to alert local homeowners to pipe bursts. Little did they know how much FlexNet would also help them overcome a natural disaster.

After Superstorm Sandy hit the Jersey Shore in the fall of 2012, many residents suffered devastating property damage or lost their homes entirely.

More than three feet of water accumulated in the home of Ed Andrews, a 10-year customer of LEHMUA, leaving his water meter submerged. “While my service was never disrupted, the meter still needed to be replaced,” said Andrews. “Fortunately, the folks at my utility changed out the meter in a timely manner at no cost.”

Using FlexNet to prioritize relief efforts and identify the most heavily impacted areas, LEHMUA was able to replace water meters proactively. The utility addressed problems quickly and efficiently, all while maintaining consistent communication with customers about its restoration efforts.

Technology built to last

Because the FlexNet system is scalable, LEHMUA can continue to monitor its customers’ water consumption and alert them of issues for years to come.

“No matter if we experience another hurricane or harsh winter, our customers can rest assured knowing that we will go right to them and address an issue before receiving a complaint,” said Sutton. “We take great comfort knowing that FlexNet will only continue to support the longstanding partnerships we’ve created.”

 

CHALLENGE
Improve customer service and operations

SOLUTION
Take action using data from the Sensus FlexNet communication network

REACH FARTHER
Foster longstanding relationships with customers no matter what challenges are ahead

Download PDF

Contact Us

Have questions? Our experienced staff can help you find the answers. Click below to contact us or find an office near you.

Contact Us

Please select your preferred language:

English Deutsch Français 日本語 Español 简体中文