为了更佳的浏览体验,将您的浏览器保持最新。在这里您可以获得最新的版本。

案例研究

加利福尼亚州喷泉谷采用 Sensus 技术实现节水目标

智能水网成功减少 23% 的用水量

干涸的水库、龟裂的泥土和无水的泳池……人们所见之处都传递着这样一个信号:加利福尼亚州仍处于持续干旱中。不过人们看不到的是,各大供水商,例如芳泉谷的 Mark Sprague,正通过不懈努力来确保正常供水。

加利福尼亚州要求所有居民协助州政府抗旱,将用水量减少 5 千亿加仑。将这个数字平摊到 Mark 这样的加利福尼亚居民身上,就是要每人每日减少 15-20 加仑的用水量。

Mark 一边考虑干旱的事,一边一口喝下一杯水。他突然发现,按上述目标平均算下来,他个人的节水量相当于每天少喝 100 杯这样的水。

“我们的市民都热切地希望尽一臂之力,却又无从下手,”芳泉谷公用事业管理人员 Mark Sprague 说,“因此首先,我们必须弄清楚水的去向,并与市民共享此信息。然后,我们要阻止所有漏水点和不必要的用水点。”

芳泉谷常被称为橙县规划最合理的社区,早在各色人才来此定居之前,这里就已经具有完善的总体规划。这座规模不大的城市已是超过 55,000 名居民的家,不过如今面临的这场历史性干旱是当初绝不可能预见到的。事实上,喷泉谷就因该地曾引以为豪的高水位而得名。现在随着水位的下降,该社区亟需长期解决方案来应对供水危机。

零数据规划

fountain-valley-california-fountain

该市决定关闭其标志性的喷泉来节水,并为居民树立好榜样。

第一个挑战就是要确定各个用水点。这不仅有助于喷泉谷进行水功能区划,还有助于用水者找出漏水点和减少用水的方法。Sprague 等领导者虽然了解水量将尽,但剩余多少水、哪里还有水等具体数据都还是一个谜。

喷泉谷实施了多项限水措施,例如节水返利和灌溉限制等,从而鼓励居民节约用水。但是,如果没有适当的工具来跟踪这些措施,则无法了解用水者是否遵循了节水指令。

例如,在橙县约 50-60% 的家庭用水均用于浇灌草地等室外活动。该市希望能在一周的某几天内限制浇灌,为此,需要采用工具来确认用水者确实遵循这一指导方针。

利用 Sensus 技术将权力下放到居民手中

芳泉谷部署了 Sensus 智能水网,其中包括 FlexNet® 通信系统iPERL™ 民用OMNI™ 商用水表。组合使用后,整个城市和居民能够更加清楚地了解从何处减少用水并先行一步判定漏水点。

FlexNet 系统是一种远程无线电网络,提供了可扩展且可靠的通信基础设施,为智能水网和智能城市的建设提供支持。Sensus OMNI 商用水表即使在多年后依然可精准地计量用水量,Sensus iPERL 水表可持续使用 20 年,任何细微的水流都能精确计量,并保持量测精度。

超出减水 20% 的目标

在各位领导者的带领下,芳泉谷市民借助 Sensus 技术齐心协力超出了其减水目标,并最终减少了 23% 的用水量。

“Sensus 的解决方案有助于我们监控抗旱节水规定的实施情况,并最终超出了我们减水 20% 的目标,”Sprague 说,“智能水网能够发出警报,告知我们哪些用户用水量较高,并让我们能够与这些用水者紧密合作,共同找出更加高效用水的方法。”

用水限制和节水返利都是鼓励居民节约用水的措施之一。使用智能用水技术后,这些措施能将继续发挥更大的作用。如今,喷泉谷能够:

  • 查看用水位置和用水量
  • 积极与居民和企业分享数据
  • 居民有权参与进来,共同节约用水、防止漏水

Sensus 的解决方案有助于我们监控抗旱节水规定的实施情况,并最终超出了我们减水 20% 的目标。

Sprague 和他的团队每周也能收到十几条甚至更多的漏水警报。利用这些数据,他们能够通过电话或信件指导用水者解决小型漏水问题。如果收到有关大规模漏水的警报,则员工会立刻前往事发地点处理问题。事实上,短短数月内,芳泉谷已解决了两处可能浪费更多水并可能毁掉家庭地基的严重漏水点。

“部署 Sensus 技术之前,我们很难确定每年浪费了多少水,也无法确定用水者是否真的遵循了我们的限制规定,”Sprague 说,“不过现在,某一个位置用水后,我们几乎能够立刻了解到,而且如果有人在限制时段内浇灌,我们也能够予以教育。”

打造更美好的未来

达到用水限制要求还只是第一步。该市最近部署了 Customer Connect 系统,这是一款在线门户,鼓励居民注册后监控自己的用水情况,甚至能够自行检测漏水情况。芳泉谷在未来将使用一系列技术实现长远节水,而这只是其中一种。

水资源短缺问题是加利福尼亚州的一项持续挑战,不过有了 Sensus 智能水网提供的精准数据和应用,喷泉谷正大步向前,为社区内的居民打造更美好的未来。


挑战:
通过减水 20% 来应对干旱

解决方案:
使用技术来检测漏水,并让居民参与其中

进一步发展:
无论未来如何,都将节水坚持到底

下载 PDF

联系我们

有疑问? 我们经验丰富的工作人员可帮助您找到答案。
点击下方可联系我们或查找您附近的办事处。

联系我们

Please select your preferred language:

English Deutsch Français 日本語 Español 简体中文

For a better experience, keep your browser up to date. Check here for the latest versions.

Case Study

Fountain Valley, California Beats Water Reduction Goal with Sensus Technology

Smart water network led to 23 percent decrease in water use

Dried up reservoirs, cracked dirt and empty swimming pools are just a few of the visual reminders of the ongoing California drought. But what most people don’t see is the water providers, like Mark Sprague at the City of Fountain Valley, working tirelessly to keep the water running.

The state of California asked all residents to help reduce the state’s water usage by 500 billion gallons in order to combat the drought. For California residents like Mark, this means reducing individual daily usage by 15-20 gallons.

Mark gulps down a glass of cold water while pondering the drought. Then it hits him. His individual water conservation goal is equal to about 100 of these glasses of water per day.

“Our citizens were eager to help, but overwhelmed with where to start,” said Mark Sprague, utilities manager, City of Fountain Valley. “First, we had to figure out where the water was going and share this information with them. Second, we had to stop all leaks and unnecessary usage.”

Often referred to as Orange County’s best-planned community, Fountain Valley created a master plan long before individual developments sprouted up. This small municipality, home to more 55,000 residents, could not have foreseen the historic drought that it faces. In fact, the name Fountain Valley refers to the high water table the area once boasted. With those levels now lower, the community needed a long-term solution to the water crisis.

Plans without Data

fountain-valley-california-fountain

The city decided to turn off its iconic fountain to save water and set a good example for residents.

The first challenge was to identify where water was being used. This would help Fountain Valley’s water division and its customers spot leaks and ways to reduce consumption. Leaders like Sprague knew that water was going down the drain, but how much and where remained a mystery.

Fountain Valley implemented water restrictions, such as conservation rebates and irrigation restrictions, to encourage residents to save water. But without a tool to track these measures, they could not see if customers were following water mandates.

For example, in Orange County, approximately 50 to 60 percent of household water is used outdoors for activities such as watering lawns. The city wanted to restrict watering to certain days of the week, but needed a tool to confirm customers were following the guidelines.

Putting Power in the Hands of Residents with Sensus

Fountain Valley deployed a Sensus smart water network, including the FlexNet® communication system, iPERL™ residential and OMNI™ commercial meters. Together, the city and its customers got a lot smarter about where they could cut back on water use and proactively identify leaks.

The FlexNet system is a long-range radio network that provides a scalable and reliable communications infrastructure that enables smart water networks and smart cities. Sensus OMNI commercial meters offer sustained precision over time, and Sensus iPERL water meters capture the lowest flows and maintain measurement accuracy for their 20-year lifetime.

Exceeding the 20 Percent Reduction Goal

Through a combination of leadership, citizen commitment and Sensus technology, Fountain Valley exceeded its reduction goal—ultimately cutting usage by 23 percent.

“Sensus solutions helped us to monitor drought conservation regulations and exceed our goal of a 20 percent drop in water use,” said Sprague. “The smart water network alerts us to high volume users and allows us to work closely with those customers to find ways to use water more efficiently.”

Restrictions and conservation rebates are some of the ways residents are encouraged to save water. Those efforts continue to reach new levels by using smart water technology. Now Fountain Valley can:

  • See where and how much water is being used
  • Proactively share data with residents and businesses
  • Empower residents to work together to conserve water and prevent leaks

Sensus solutions helped us to monitor drought conservation regulations and exceed our goal of a 20 percent drop in water use.

Sprague and his team also receive a dozen or more leak alerts each week. With this data, they are able to address minor issues through customer calls and letters. When alerted to a major leak, staff immediately heads to the location to address the issue. In fact, within a few short months, Fountain Valley stopped two major leaks that threatened to waste even more water and ruin a home’s foundation.

“Before deploying Sensus technology, it was difficult to determine how much water we were losing each year and when customers were not following restrictions,” said Sprague. “Today, we know almost immediately where water is going and can educate our customers who are watering at incorrect times.”

Building a Better Future

Meeting the water usage reduction mandate is just the beginning. The city recently deployed Customer Connect, an online portal that encourages residents to sign up, monitor their usage and even detect leaks on their own. This is just one example of how Fountain Valley will use technology to conserve for the long term.

The water scarcity issue in California is an ongoing challenge, but with the improved data accuracy and applications provided through the Sensus smart water network, Fountain Valley is on the path to creating a better future for its community.


Challenge:
Combat drought by reducing water usage by 20 percent

Solution:
Use technology to detect leaks—and empower citizens to conserve

Reach Farther:
Conserve water, no matter what the future holds

Download PDF

Contact Us

Have questions? Our experienced staff can help you find the answers. Click below to contact us or find an office near you.

Contact Us

Please select your preferred language:

English Deutsch Français 日本語 Español 简体中文