为了更佳的浏览体验,将您的浏览器保持最新。在这里您可以获得最新的版本。

案例研究

科罗拉多埃文斯市的仪表读数估算值降低了 94%

Sensus 技术改进计费准确性,并且能够为不断增长的客户群提供支持

科罗拉多埃文斯市供水部门需要升级计费服务,刻不容缓。埃文斯有 6,500 个水表,埃文斯技术人员 Randy 在过去 14 年间,每个月都需要沿街挨户抄水表。尽管 Randy 很努力且工作时间很长,但由于水表老旧,只能估算数据,所以读数经常不准确。此外,抄表时间太耗时,通常在开具计费单之前没有足够的时间审核数据。

埃文斯市 Community Complex 春暖花开

埃文斯市 Community Complex 春暖花开,这里是居民喜欢的聚集场所,也是埃文斯供水部门的所在地。

“由于我们的技术人员每个月占用数天人工抄表,我们无法为客户提供最优的服务,”科罗拉多埃文斯市公用事业计费专家 Joni Crist 表示。“我们知道需要做出改变。”

管理快速增长的人口

埃文斯市位于丹佛以北,距离丹佛约一小时车程。埃文斯约有 20,000 名居民,城市发展如此之快,新建的 Prairie Heights 中学已经满负荷。随着人口的不断增长,抄表和计费的挑战只会越来越大。

耗时、耗资源

老旧仪表和不准确的读数不仅仅是公用事业的麻烦,也使得供水部门无法满足客户的需求。恰当的示例:仪表十分老旧(有些仪表已经使用了四年之久),对其中约 1,500 个仪表,曾一度是按照用水量估算值来计费的。这种情况意味着,近四分之一埃文斯居民的每月计费账单不准确。

“等到终于收集完水表数据后,我们又得忙着递送计费账单,”Crist 表示。“我们几乎没有时间检查发票,以洞察影响客户的潜在泄漏以及其他问题。”

我们很高兴进行了技术升级。我们已经为未来多年的可持续发展做好充分准备。

埃文斯需要更新基础设施并改善客户服务,刻不容缓。

找到正确的解决方案

埃文斯市部署 Sensus iPERL® 住宅水表和 OMNI™ 商业水表,以及 FlexNet® 通信网络,旨在:

  • 提高计费精确度
  • 减少抄表时间
  • 改善客户服务

通过新技术改善客户服务

“Sensus 的技术帮助我们更好地为客户提供服务,”Crist 表示。“我们在月度计费过程中有更多的审核时间,可以在问题反映在计费账单上之前,提前发现问题并让客户省钱。”

iPERL 水表连接到 SmartPoint,为公用事业收集数据。

Sensus iPERL 水表连接到 SmartPoint,为公用事业收集数据。

通过部署智能水网,埃文斯的水表读数估算值从 1,500 降至 74。94% 的降幅使运营效率和客户服务发生巨大改变。现在,埃文斯供水部门可以在月度计费流程开始时,收到准确的用水量数据,而无需抄表员奔波于埃文斯的大街小巷。

公用事业安排人工抄表的人力也降低了 84%。这意味着 Randy 可以将之前抄表的时间花在帮助客户上。此外,员工有时间检查发票,并主动提醒客户注意潜在的水泄漏或其他问题。现在,Randy 上门或到企业拜访时,能够当场提供切实的帮助。

“我们的技术人员已经注意到客户满意度发生了变化,”Crist 表示。“借助从新水表收集的数据,技术人员可以与客户一起,更快地找到解决方案。”

投资于解决方案,让现在和将来的每一天更精彩

FlexNet 系统具有可扩展性,可以帮助埃文斯实现“通过以发展为导向的基础设施提供清洁、安全、宜居的环境,打造经济多元化、自给自足的社区”的愿景。

随着人口不断增长,埃文斯已经准备好更高效、更准确地处理公用事业的城市新居民计费问题。不管多少人在埃文斯安家立业,都可以放心地享受专业人员提供的卓越服务。

“我们很高兴进行了技术升级,”Crist 表示。“这不仅造福我们的现有客户,而且给我们提供了满足城市新居民需求所需的优质设备。我们已经为未来多年的可持续发展做好充分准备。”

 


挑战:
改善计费准确度和客户服务

解决方案:
部署 Sensus 智能水网

进一步发展:
为不断增长的城市居民提供清洁、安全的环境

下载 PDF

联系我们

有疑问?我们经验丰富的工作人员可帮助您找到答案。
点击下方可联系我们或查找您附近的办事处。

联系我们

Please select your preferred language:

English Deutsch Français 日本語 Español 简体中文

For a better experience, keep your browser up to date. Check here for the latest versions.

Case Study

City of Evans, CO Reduces Estimated Meter Reads by 94 Percent

Sensus technology improves billing accuracy and supports growing population

It’s billing time at the City of Evans, Colorado water department. For the past 14 years, Randy, an Evans technician, has devoted days out of every month to drive the streets and read each of the city’s 6,500 water meters. Despite Randy’s hard work and long hours, the reads aren’t always accurate because the aging meters estimate the data. Plus, the process takes so long that there’s often not enough time to review the data before the bill goes out the door.

city-of-evans-community-complex-spring-flowers

Spring flowers bloom at the City of Evans Community Complex, a popular gathering spot for residents and home to the city’s water department.

“We couldn’t provide customers with the best possible service because our technicians were tied up for days each month manually reading meters,” said Joni Crist, utility billing specialist, City of Evans, Colorado. “We knew we needed to make a change.”

Managing rapid population growth

The City of Evans is located about an hour north of Denver. With approximately 20,000 residents and counting, the city is growing so fast that its newly-built Prairie Heights Middle School is already at capacity. Challenges with meter reads and billing will only get bigger as the population grows.

Wasted time and resources

Aging meters and inaccurate reads are not just a hassle for the utility, they prevent the water department from meeting the needs of its customers. A case in point: the meters were so old that, at one point, approximately 1,500 of them were billed using estimated water use, some for as long as four years. This situation meant incorrect monthly bills for nearly one quarter of the city’s residents.

“After we finally collected data from our meters, we had to rush to get the bills out the door,” said Crist. “We had very little time to examine the invoices for potential leaks and other problems that were affecting our customers.”

We’re so glad we upgraded our technology when we did. We’ve set ourselves up for sustainable growth for years to come.

It was time for the city to update its infrastructure and improve customer service.

Finding the right solution

The City of Evans deployed Sensus iPERL® residential and OMNI™ commercial water meters, as well as the FlexNet® communication network in order to:

  • Improve billing accuracy
  • Cut the time it took to conduct meters reads
  • Better serve its customers

Improving customer service with new technology

“Sensus’ technology helps us better serve our customers,” said Crist. “With the extra review time during our monthly billing process, we can catch issues before they are reflected on their bills and save them money.”

iPERL-water-meter-connects-to-SmartPoint-to-gather-data-for-utility.

A Sensus iPERL meter connects to a SmartPoint to gather data for the utility.

The smart water network has empowered the city to decrease the number of estimated meter reads from 1,500 to 74. This whopping 94 percent reduction has been a game changer in operational efficiency and customer service. At the start of the monthly billing process, Evans now receives accurate usage data—without having to drive the city’s streets.

The utility also reduced the number of manual meter reads it conducts by 84 percent. This means that Randy can use the time he previously spent reading meters helping customers. Plus, the staff has time to examine invoices and proactively alert customers to potential water leaks or other issues. Now when Randy visits a home or business, they know that he’s there to help.

“Our technicians have noticed a difference in customer satisfaction,” said Crist. “Armed with data collected from new meters, they’re able to work with customers to quickly identify solutions to their problems.”

Investing in a solution for today and tomorrow

Because the FlexNet system is scalable, it can help the city fulfill its quest to be an “economically diverse, self-sufficient community providing a clean, safe, family-friendly environment with growth-oriented infrastructure.”

As a growing community, Evans is poised to handle utility billing for its new residents with greater efficiency and accuracy. No matter how many people call this Evans community home, they can count on superior service from the city’s dedicated staff.

“We’re so glad we upgraded our technology when we did,” said Crist. “Not only does it benefit our current customers, but it also gives us the high-quality equipment we need to be ready for the newcomers to our city. We’ve set ourselves up for sustainable growth for years to come.”

 


Challenge:
Improve billing accuracy and customer service

Solution:
Implement a smart water network from Sensus

Reach Farther:
Provide a clean, safe environment to a growing population

Download PDF

Contact Us

Have questions? Our experienced staff can help you find the answers. Click below to contact us or find an office near you.

Contact Us

Please select your preferred language:

English Deutsch Français 日本語 Español 简体中文